1. Hi and welcome to Betnod. If you would like to view the forum without adverts then please register.

Family Trees.

Discussion in 'General Chat' started by slick, Aug 31, 2018.

1. slick

slick Administrator

I'm pretty sure we've talked about this before but I can't find a thread, maybe it was on TDP.

Anyhow I've researched it once before and did rather well so I thought and left it at that always intending to go back to it, I did it mainly using the ancestory uk website when I got a years subscription on the cheap.

It must be 8yrs or more since I last looked at it, then the other week I was talking to a sister in-law who wanted to do her family tree and didn't know how to go about it, so I took up the reins again offering to help her.
    Rather than going to the ancestory uk website, I decided to try findmypast because it also has Irish records which is where I got stuck last time around.
    So I imported my tree into that website, after a few days trying to pick up from where I left off I decided to just start from scratch again, I'm glad I did because it turns out my original tree is way off the mark.

I think it's because the findmypast website is a lot more usually friendly or maybe it's just that I have more patience, either way I've took some branches of the tree back a few more generations when I thought I had hit a brick wall on ancestoryuk, plus some branches were completely wrong familys.

Anybody else ever delved into their past?
  2. ONEDUNME

ONEDUNME Administrator

Yes but I did it the proper way and I can tell you that websites like that are bollocks. I’m not surprised that you found that your efforts were a pile of shit and I’ll tell you why.